Director Profiles

David Simmons

BA (Acc)

Chairman, Independent Non-Executive Director

David was appointed by the Board as Chairman in February 2015 and has been a director of Codan since May 2008. He has worked in the manufacturing industry throughout his career and has extensive financial and general management experience. David joined Hills Industries Limited in 1984, where he was appointed Finance Director in 1987 and Managing Director in 1992. He retired from Hills Industries Limited in June 2008. He is a former director of Lighting Investments Australia Holdings Pty Ltd. He is Chairman of Commercial Motor Vehicles Group and a board member of the Detmold Group.

Donald McGurk

HNC (Mech Eng), MBA, FAICD, Harvard AMP

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Codan Limited

Donald was appointed to the board as Director in May 2010, and was appointed as Managing Director in November 2010. Donald joined Codan in December 2000 and had executive responsibility for group-wide manufacturing until his transition into the role of CEO. In addition to his manufacturing role, from 2005 to 2007 Donald held executive responsibility for sales of the company’s communications products, and from 2007 to 2010, executive responsibility for the business performance of the company’s HF radio products. Donald came to Codan with an extensive background in change management applied to manufacturing operations, and held senior manufacturing management positions in several industries. Donald holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration from Adelaide University and completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in 2010. He is a board member of Bedford Phoenix Incorporated.

Peter Leahy

BA (Military Studies), MMAS, GAICD

Independent Non-Executive Director

Peter Leahy was appointed to the board in September 2008. He retired from the Army in July 2008 after a 37-year career and 6 years as Chief of Army. His distinguished service was recognised with his 2007 appointment as Companion of the Order of Australia. Since leaving the Army he has been appointed as Professor and Foundation Director of the National Security Institute at the University of Canberra. He is a member of the Defence South Australia Advisory Board, a director of the Citadel Group Limited and a director of Electro Optic Systems Holdings Limited.  Peter holds a Master of Military Arts and Science from the US Army Command and General Staff College, where he also served as an instructor, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. In August 2014, he was appointed to the Australian Federal Government's First Principles Review Team, an initiative designed to ensure that the Australian Department of Defence is fit for purpose and able to promptly respond to future challenges.


Jim McDowell

LL.B (Hons)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Jim was appointed to the board in September 2014. He joined British Aerospace in Singapore in August 1996 and, during his time with British Aerospace, served as the Managing Director — Asia and Chief Executive Officer of BAE Systems Australia Limited. He was Chief Executive Officer of BAE Systems Saudi Arabia from September 2011 until December 2013. Jim is Chair of Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation and, in August 2014, was appointed to the Australian Federal Government's First Principles Review Team, an initiative designed to ensure that the Australian Department of Defence is fit for purpose and able to promptly respond to future challenges. He is Chairman of Total Construction Pty Ltd and a director of Austal Limited. Jim is Chancellor of the University of South Australia.


Graeme Barclay

MAICD, F Fin, CA, MA (Hons)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Graeme was appointed to the board in February 2015. He has 30 years of international business experience in professional services, broadcast and telecommunications, and extensive knowledge of business in the communications services, technology and infrastructure markets.

He was Group Chief Executive Officer of Broadcast Australia for 11 years, following 3 years as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer, retiring in April 2013. In his time with Broadcast Australia, the business grew domestically and expanded internationally and diversified into private networks, transit location communications and data centre operation and managed hosting services.

From July 2010 until September 2013 he was Chairman of Transit Wireless LLP, which has the exclusive rights to install and operate cellular and Wi-Fi systems in the New York subway.  From 2002 to 2009, he was an Executive Director in Macquarie Group’s infrastructure team and was involved in several acquisitions and capital raising transactions for the then listed Macquarie Communications Infrastructure Group.

He is currently Non-Executive Chairman and Director of Nextgen Group Holdings Pty Ltd, a Non-Executive Director of BSA Limited and Axicom Holdings Pty Limited, and the founder and Executive Director of First Horizon Advisory. Graeme is a chartered accountant, holding membership of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and of Chartered Accountants Australia and NZ.


Kathy Gramp


Independent Non-Executive Director

Kathy was appointed to the board in November 2015. She has had a long and distinguished executive career and over 17 years of board experience across a diverse range of Australian organisations and industry sectors. She has had exposure to international markets and has a wealth of experience in corporate finance at both strategic and operational levels.

In 1989, Kathy joined Austereo Ltd, Australia’s largest commercial radio network, at a senior corporate level, and her career with Austereo spanned 22 years. As Chief Financial Officer and a member of the Executive Committee, she was closely involved in Austereo’s national & international expansion and its successful move into digital and online radio.

Kathy was previously a director and member of the Audit & Risk and Remuneration Committees of Southern Cross Media Group Limited. Kathy is a director on a number of other corporate and not-for-profit boards and has significant audit committee experience.

Kathy is a chartered accountant and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Chartered Accountants Australia, and New Zealand.